Sir Keir Starmer guidelines out Jeremy Corbyn standing as Labour MP



ir Keir Starmer has successfully dominated out Jeremy Corbyn standing as a Labour MP once more.

The Labour chief mentioned “he doesn’t see the circumstances” wherein his predecessor will defend his Islington North seat for the celebration on the subsequent election.

Mr Corbyn had the whip eliminated two years in the past over his response to a scathing Equality and Human Rights Fee (EHRC) report into antisemitism within the celebration.

Sir Keir advised BBC Radio 4: “Now we have not acquired to the number of that exact constituency but, however I don’t see the circumstances wherein Jeremy Corbyn will stand as a Labour candidate.”

Mr Corbyn has been the MP for Islington North since 1983. He led the celebration from 2015 till the Conservative’s landslide victory within the 2019 election.

In November 2020 he was suspended from Labour after suggesting that the dimensions of anti-Semitism within the celebration, outlined by the equalities watchdog, was “dramatically overstated” by his political rivals and the media.

Later he tried to make clear his feedback in a press release, saying issues about antisemitism are “neither ‘exaggerated’ nor ‘overstated”’.

He was readmitted to the celebration, however Sir Keir mentioned he couldn’t return as a Labour MP and would proceed to have to take a seat as an impartial within the Commons.

Mr Corbyn has been tipped to face in opposition to Labour within the north London constituency and can be believed to be contemplating operating as an impartial candidate for Mayor.

Requested whether or not Mr Corbyn might stand in opposition to his celebration, Sir Keir replied: “I can’t communicate for Jeremy on this.”

Labour’s MP candidate choice course of is underneath means. Among the celebration’s longstanding MPs have already confirmed they don’t intend to face once more, together with Harriet Harman and Dame Margaret Hodge.

The subsequent normal election is predicted to return in summer season 2024, however could possibly be held as late as January 2025.

The most recent YouGov ballot reveals Labour are 25 factors forward of the Conservatives.

Quite a few senior Tories and rising stars within the celebration have additionally already introduced they won’t be standing.

No less than 13 have mentioned they are going to be preventing their seats the following time the nation goes to the polls.

They embrace former Chancellor Sajid Javid, vice-chairman of the influential 1922 Committee William Wragg, former work and pensions secretary Chloe Smith, chief of the Scottish Conservatives Douglas Ross and Dehenna Davison who was elected in 2019 in crimson wall seat Bishop Auckland.

Conservative MPs have till at the moment to inform the celebration whether or not they wish to contest their seats.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles